The History

The Salutation has been an Inn since at least 1720.

The fine 3 story façade stands proudly in the centre of Topsham, an old port and ship building town located at the head of the Exe Estuary, 4½ miles from the sea.

The main entrance

The main entrance ‘porte cochère’ (carriage porch) with what has been described (by English Heritage) as one of the largest single leaf doors in the country carrying above it the Assembly (Topsham’s best room) and its architecturally unique Venetian window, where you can see our famous 1774 graffiti etched on to the glass.

The building is protected with a star listing. From Regatta Balls to 19thC balloon trips it has all happened here.


"The inns and taverns of Topsham are as varied and excellent as those of any old river-port. Best of all is the Salutation (1720) with its former Assembly Room, and all the other attributes of a good 18th Century inn" – Extract from Devon by W.G.Hoskins (1954)

The new philosophy of The Salutation is to consistently serve the finest food in an unique atmosphere for all occasions.

The Salutation is no longer a ‘pub’ and does not even have the modern convenience of a bar counter, but we are still refreshing weary travellers in the tradition of the old English Inn. Personal service and customer satisfaction is our aim whether staying the night and having dinner or just passing by and enjoying a coffee or a glass of bubbles in the GlassHouse Cafe.

An atmospheric building that has a history and a future in the art of hospitality.

Download and read The History of The Salutation Inn (PDF) compiled by Ed Williams-Hawkes.


The new philosophy of The Salutation is to consistently serve the finest food in an unique atmosphere for all occasions. Meet the team here.

×

Popular Searches...       Hotel   /   Address   /   Evening menu   /   Cafe hours   /   Find